Terms of endearment (part 1)

Before I start, I hope everyone had a great Happy Pie and Beer day yesterday!

Anyways, this is not a post on making cute pet names. So if you were looking on advice for that, I would refer you to the Jenna Marbles video “How To Make Awesome Pet Names” on this subject. You might recognize her as the one who introduced the face in the video “How To Avoid Talking To People You Don’t Want To Talk To.”

This was preceded by her introduction of the Hot Girl Disguise in “How To Trick People Into Thinking You’re Good-Looking” Sidenote: If you’ve never watched Jenna Marbles, I’d recommend you start because she’s amazing. I think she’s my number 2 only to Ms. Swift, which if you know me is one of the highest compliments I can pay someone! Speaking of Taylor, I thought of a new addition to the S-test previously described: “Is your name Taylor Swift?”

.. And as usual, I am getting off-topic.

Anyways, since I’ve been going out and meeting new people, I’ve been getting asked what my current situation is. I have been trying to explain to countless people – friends, family members, and randoms who read my blog (seriously, thanks guys!) – my current status. I mean, nowadays, there are so many confusing terms (and confusing accompaniment using hand gestures/animals) that I decided to put my research to use and write up a little guide for my next post to help clarify the situation for other people.

So even if you don’t agree with my interpretations, I have asked around and I think this serves as a pretty good representation of the male population for our perceptions of the increasingly blurry and subtle line between dating, hanging out, and seeing someone. .

I am basing most of the score on my perceptions, but I’ll add a more objective component: the way you store them in your phone as well as how many times you talk to them.

I’m going to rank girlfriend-ness on a letter-scale with an A+ being, “This is my girlfriend” and F being, “Yeah I sat next to her in class and I think her name is Jess/Jen or Amanda/Ashley.”

It turns out that if you guess those 4 names (Jess/Jen/Amanda/Ashley), according to the data from the US Census on babies born in the 1980’s, I figured out you have a 10% chance of getting it right (that is a pro pick-up move)..

Chris

Related links
Terms of endearment (part 2)
Terms of endearment (part 3)
Terms of endearment (part 4)
A night to remember
On romance and baby names
Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night
Katie G: part 5, flower-filled outrage
I’m a Liebster Award winner – discover more blogs
Snowstorm Girls Part 1 – The introduction
Snowstorm Girls Part 2 – Two girls two problems
Katie G part 7: More confusion
Snowstorm Girls part 5 – Exhaustion

19 thoughts on “Terms of endearment (part 1)

  1. Pingback: I found Jenna Marbles first | heylookchris

  2. Pingback: I found Jenna Marbles first so back the F off!! | heylookchris

  3. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 3) | heylookchris

  4. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 2) | heylookchris

  5. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 4) | heylookchris

  6. Pingback: It’s Steak and a BJ day! | heylookchris

  7. Pingback: A night to remember! | heylookchris

  8. Pingback: The story of Hot Plane Chick (part 3) « heylookchris

  9. Pingback: Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night « heylookchris

  10. Pingback: On romance and baby names « heylookchris

  11. Pingback: Katie G: part 5, Flower-filled outrage. « heylookchris

  12. Pingback: Where did the name Sophia come from?? « heylookchris

  13. Pingback: I’m a Liebster Award winner! | heylookchris

  14. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 1 | heylookchris

  15. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 2 – getting to the blizzard party | heylookchris

  16. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 2 – Two girls two problems | heylookchris

  17. Pingback: Katie G: Part 7, confusing Snookers | heylookchris

  18. Pingback: Katie G: Part 6, the end | heylookchris

  19. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 5 – Exhaustion | heylookchris

Leave a Reply

