Terms of endearment (part 3)

So I was running on the treadmill the other day at my gym. They have TVs which get some of your basic cable channels and VH1 was having a marathon of Best 90’s Music Videos, so I decided to tune into that thinking it would provide me amusement.

I burst out in laughter during the start of each video due to the elaborate costumes these bands were in. I think my eyes were watering from laughing so hard. Well that in combination with my high level of pain. Probably some sweat mixed in there. Ha, lather some blood in there and you get the lethally unmatched cocktail of blood, sweat, and tears.

Anyways, off-topic again.

Since the 1990’s, we have made giant strides not only in fashion (Jean jackets? Mullets? Really?), but with communications. I remember calling my Mom from middle school to tell her that I needed a ride from a payphone. I didn’t have a cell-phone in high school, I just borrowed my Dad’s if I was going out. It was before the Razr kickstarted the size competition, so this phone was basically the size and weight of a small glazed ham.

My edited picture of Bill Clinton holding a ham-sized phone

Nowadays, you can use your cell-phone to watch movies, listen to music, and don’t get me started on how awesome Apple’s FaceTime is. I don’t have an iPhone myself, but the ability to videoconference on a mobile device is an amazing breakthrough. And all in the palm of your hand.

So if you have the ability to talk on the phone, why use text messaging? It’s about as efficient as a telegraph. It is stateless, emotionless, and usually filled with weird acronyms.

This is actually really just a teaser post. In the next installment (part 4) of the “Terms of endearment series” (part 1 and part 2 here), I am going to tell you exactly why I hate text messaging – but only when it comes to dating. This topic comes up because I have been casually messaging with a few ladies. Not with those particular acronyms. And if you don’t know what those acronyms mean, I would not suggest looking them up at work.

Sorry for the typos, it’s late and I’ve been out.

Chris

Related links
Terms of endearment (part 1)
Terms of endearment (part 2)
Terms of endearment (part 4)
Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night
Katie G: part 5, flower-filled outrage

6 thoughts on “Terms of endearment (part 3)

  1. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 2) | heylookchris

  2. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 1) | heylookchris

  3. Pingback: Terms of endearment (part 4) | heylookchris

  4. Pingback: Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night « heylookchris

  5. Pingback: Katie G: part 5, Flower-filled outrage. « heylookchris

  6. Pingback: Katie G: Part 6, the end | heylookchris

Leave a Reply

