Hurricane Irene

First, just wanted to let everyone know that I am fine and safe! I appreciate everyone who called and/or talked to me. Sorry this is just going up now, I got back from work around 7PM and have been relishing my electricity – I have LIGHTS and a COMPUTER and a PHONE and LIGHTS and a WASHING MACHINE and LIGHTS and a REFRIGERATOR!!!

Second, if you couldn’t tell, I lost power on Sunday at 6 AM because of Hurricane Irene. She hit Providence around 4 or 5 AM. Turns out that most of Rhode Island and Massachusetts lost power. However, it seems like most of my friends did not lose power. On the other hand, most of my co-workers did.

My loss of electricity is ironic because I was the one who was ridiculing the hurricane hype. I mean, we had a “Hurricane Party/Bar Crawl” on Saturday night – a few hours before she descended upon Providence. Yeah that theme was my sister’s idea. She lives in Boston and she didn’t lose power!

It is also ironic because I lived in FLORIDA for 3 years and experienced only one major huge event (low-powered category 1 hurricane slash high-powered tropical storm). I did have to experience a handful of torrential downpours. On those occasions, it rained hard enough that it looked it was going sideways. Regardless, the one time I did lose power, it was only for a couple of hours. I didn’t have to read/shower by candlelight (literally).

I’ve been in Rhode Island for 3 months and I already got slammed with a hurricane. And I didn’t have power from Sunday morning until this morning. And people were saying I was “lucky” because some I had gas and water. I just lost an entire freezer full of food. That’s not lucky. That’s depressing.

On a sidenote: I’d like to thank my gym for not losing power. Also for letting me charge my phone while I lifted and watched TV. Also for their heated showers. Yeah, I legitimately moved in for a few hours and for that I’d like to give them a shout-out.

I know it’s the 1st of the month tomorrow, but there’ll be no post because I have been dealing with this whole power outage thing!

Chris

Related Links
Snowstorm Girls Part 2 – Two girls two problems

4 thoughts on “Hurricane Irene

  1. Pingback: Sunday night, the calm before Sandy (not Katie G version) « heylookchris

  2. Pingback: Bottled water « heylookchris

  3. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 2 – getting to the blizzard party | heylookchris

  4. Pingback: Snowstorm Girls part 2 – Two girls two problems | heylookchris

Leave a Reply

