Friends with Benefits and the Playboy Club

In case you haven’t seen it yet, “Friends with Benefits” is a newly minted comedy on NBC with its pilot episode debuting this August. It’s a show about a group of friends from Chicago in the style of “Friends” who are all looking for love.

There’s two main characters though (Ben and Sara) who have a very close friendship which blossoms into an awesome FWB relationship. Sara’s wearing the purple scarf in the picture. All of them are looking for their own perfect match and by episode 10, everyone’s swapping spit with everyone else, which is not so awesome.

Anyways, if you recall, Sara Maxwell recently jumped into my top 2. So like usual, I tune into Hulu (speaking of internet TV…other than sports, who watches TV at its regularly scheduled slot anymore? There are so many better options: TiVo, DVR, Hulu, Netflix, etc. I’ll get to this soon in another post..), eager to watch another episode but to my absolute horror, I find out that IT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. And on top of that, the last episode is only available on Itunes and Amazon.com.

In other words, not only did FWB get cancelled, but I also can’t even watch the last episode of the show without spending money or effort to get my hands on the episode. (Sidenote: if you happen to have it, send it to me!).

First I lose Jenna Marbles, now I lose Sara! I have the worst luck.

But hope springs eternal.. I watched the first episode of “The Playboy Club” and it’s surprisingly good. It’s like a mix between Mad Men and Coyote Ugly, minus the chick-flick crap. I am liking the feel of the show. It’s actually filmed on location in Chicago with some scenes at the real Playboy Club. And Hugh Hefner does a few voice cameos in the pilot. Not sure how involved he’ll be in the future, but it was neat to see that he was somewhat involved. I don’t know how to describe it, but I guess you could say it’s got a sepia feel. It doesn’t actually use that cinematic effect, but it’s like mobster smooth: in other words, everyone’s wearing suits and smoking cigarettes.

Bottom line: if you get 45 minutes, give “The Playboy Club” a shot, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Anyways, I’m no Siskel and Ebert, I don’t moonlight as a TV show reviewer. So there’s a reason I bring this up: because Amber Heard has stolen my heart. She plays Maureen, a new Bunny at the Playboy Club in Chicago. But it’s just the way she acts. Oh and how she acts.. Her character looks like she could be Scarlett Johansson’s sister. On top of that, she’s just.. poised – with just the right amount of confidence. Check out this picture and tell me you don’t agree.

New rankings: Taylor, Maureen, Robin, Sara, Jenna. I’m still upset about no-more-Sara-Maxwell and have thus dropped her to 4th. But I will survive. Which is more than I can say about this upcoming weekend when I head back to Gainesville, Florida for a homecoming of sorts.. Stay tuned for what I guarantee to be an entertaining read.

Chris

2 thoughts on “Friends with Benefits and the Playboy Club

  1. Pingback: Katie G part 2: the Boston night « heylookchris

  2. Pingback: Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night « heylookchris

Leave a Reply

