Where did the name Sophia come from??

We move back to Sunday night, Katie and I are on the way to meet up with Josh and Sophia who were there earlier to grab some late-night food.

As soon as arrive, Sophia tells me she has a hilarious story..

Earlier in the night Josh had requested of Sophia, “Tell me one of your secrets.”

Sophia (with her hilarious yet slightly twisted personality) pulls up a picture of her niece on her phone. She claims, “Actually I have a daughter, her name is Sophia.” The atmosphere gets really awkward as – at least in Sophia’s version of the story – Josh’s body slumps visibly.

As they told me the story, I feel bad for the dude, but it’s still funny that she decided to prank him like that. I mean, from Josh’s point of view, there’s not really a good way to handle this – he’s not really sure if she’s telling the truth. On the one hand, if he calls her out for lying, and he’s wrong, then he looks like an absolute jerk. On the other hand, if he goes along with it, and he’s wrong, then he looks like a slightly naïve, but an adorably gullible nice dude.

Anyways, she talks about “Sophia” for a little bit and then she can’t keep the charade up.

So that’s where the name Sophia comes from – her fake daughter’s name.

Speaking of Katie.. Sophia randomly texted me a few weeks ago out of the blue asking me what I’m doing that weekend. No big deal right? Well, keep in mind that we have not talked to/with each other since the incident, which at the time was about 3 or 4 weeks.

Hearing about Katie at all is further unnerving because..

First, during this time, I went on a casual date with a different chick named Meghan. Yeah, guess what I called her? Right, “Katie.”

Well, Katie sounds nothing like Meghan. Awkward right? Trust me, Katie’s real name sounds even less like “Meghan” than “Katie.” Oops.

Second, as you can see, Katie has been on my mind for a little bit. But as I stated, the whole scar on my head is a daily reminder of her probably not being the best choice. Anyways, I was sitting at work when I finally resolved to stop thinking about her in that light. Literally 15 minutes after I made that decision, someone knocks on my door. It’s some chick who works in the hospital’s clinical trials department. And uncanny-timing-chick has the exact same last name as Katie. Like, same spelling and everything. That’s ridiculous.

Trust me when I say that this last name is very unusual – it’s not like her last name is “Smith” or something. Otherwise I wouldn’t be flipping out. Anyways, I don’t even know what to think now. Let the overanalyzing begin!

Chris

Related Links

What happened to my head?
Katie G part 1: Friday night, the Piano bar
Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night
Katie G part 3: Sunday night, the calm before the storm
Katie G part 4: Blackout.
Katie G part 5: Flower-filled outrage
Katie G part 6: The end
Terms of endearment
On Romance and baby names
Why you always gotta be Big Dogging me?
Katie G part 7: More confusion

13 thoughts on “Where did the name Sophia come from??

  1. Pingback: My life is like “28 Days Later” but less zombies « heylookchris

  2. Pingback: Katie G part 1: Friday, the Piano bar « heylookchris

  3. Pingback: Katie G part 2: Saturday, the Boston night « heylookchris

  4. Pingback: Katie G part 3: Sunday night, the calm before the disaster « heylookchris

  5. Pingback: Katie G part 4: Blackout. The end. « heylookchris

  6. Pingback: Katie G part 5: Flower-filled outrage. « heylookchris

  7. Pingback: On romance and baby names « heylookchris

  8. Pingback: Awkward turtle « heylookchris

  9. Pingback: Katie G part 4: Blackout. « heylookchris

  10. Pingback: Katie G: Part 6, the end « heylookchris

  11. Pingback: Why you always gotta be big dogging me? « heylookchris

  12. Pingback: CMB Part 2: Big Dogged | heylookchris

  13. Pingback: Katie G: Part 7, confusing Snookers | heylookchris

Leave a Reply

